Table of contents:

About

EGI members (NGIs, EIROs, RIs and institutes) can delegate contacts to the EGI Community Managers Group. The EGI Community Managers Group is an information sharing network about user engagement, training, technical support and partner liaison activities in the EGI context. Members of the network have regular meetings and an email list to share information about their activities, and to exchange success stories and best practices between the European and national/community/institutional landscapes.

The EGI Community Group is focused on sharing information about the following areas:

  1. User Engagement:
      1. Objective: The EGI Federation is the reference compute platform for and increasing number of data-intensive science projects
      2. Activities: 
        1. Promote technical solutions and services at events national and European level
        2. Identify new scientific communities, engage them and define a joint work plan
        3. Participate in the EGI Digital Innovation Hub as technology valorization instrument with industry
  2. Training: 
      1. Objective: Users and service providers have the necessary skills and competencies to take benefit of EGI Federation services in their research activities.
      2. Activities: 
        1. Jointly define and deliver EGI training programmes taking into account user community and EGI participants’ needs and leveraging existing networks
        2. Support for training within scientific communities
        3. National/European training structures and events
  3. Technical Support (the EGI Competence Centres):
      1. Objective: Meet the digital needs of users and service providers with technical consultancy and support 
      2. Activities: 
        1. Assist user communities and providers in co-development, piloting and adoption of technical solutions and services
        2. Setup joint projects
        3. Running EGI open calls
        4. Handle service orders through the EGI and EOSC Marketplaces
        5. Establish long term collaborations between providers and users
  4. External Liaisons: 
    1. Objective: Coordinate participation in European-level initiatives of common interest, such as EOSC, GAIA-X, EuroHPC, European Digital Innovation Hubs
    2. Activities: Share information, coordinate common actions


A bit of history: 

Until mid-2021 EGI had an 'NGI International Liaisons' network (NILs). The Community Managers Group replaces the NILs with a broader scope that is open for both the NGIs and the Scientific Organisations of the EGI Council.  


Members

NGI delegates:

Name

NGI

Email

Matthias SchrammAustriamatthias.schramm@geo.tuwien.ac.at

Stephane Gerard, VUB
Olivier Devroede, VUB

Belgium

stephane.gerard@vub.be
Olivier.Devroede@vub.be

Todor Gurov, IICT-BAS

Bulgariagurov@parallel.bas.bg

Dobriša Dobrenić, SRCE
Emir Imamagic, SRCE

Croatia
Ivana Křenková, CESNET
Luděk Matyska, CESNET
Czech Republic

ivana@ics.muni.cz
Ludek.Matyska@muni.cz

Genevieve Romier, CNRSFrancegenevieve.romier@cc.in2p3.fr
To be appointedGermanycheck with patrick.fuhrmann@desy.de
Kostas Koumantaros, GRNETGreecekkoum@admin.grnet.gr
Luciano Gaido, INFN
Davide Salomoni, INFN
Italyluciano.gaido@to.infn.it
davide.salomoni@cnaf.infn.it
Povilas TreigysLithuaniapovilas.treigys@ff.vu.lt
Peter Hinrich, SURFNetherlandspeter.hinrich@surf.nl

Anastas Mishev, UKIM

Boro Jakimovski, UKIM

North Macedonia - Republicanastas.mishev@finki.ukim.mk
boro.jakimovski@finki.ukim.mk
Tomasz Piontek, ICBP
Mariusz Sterzel, CYFRONET
Poland
M.Sterzel@cyfronet.pl
João António Tomásio Pina, LIPPortugaljpina@lip.pt

Mihnea Dulea, Horia Hulubei National Institute for Physics and Nuclear Engineering

Romaniamihnea.dulea@nipne.ro
Ladislav Hluchý, IISASSlovakiahluchy.ui@savba.sk
Jan Jona Javorsek, JSISloveniajona.javorsek@ijs.si
Pablo Orviz, IFCASpainorviz@ifca.unican.es
Alex Upton Switzerland ETHZ
Dean Flanders, SwiNG
Switzerlandalex.upton@cscs.ch
dean.flanders@fmi.ch
Hakan Bayındır, TUBITAK
Feyza Eryol, TUBITAK
Onur Temizsoylu, TUBITAK
Turkeyhakan.bayindir@tubitak.gov.tr
feza.eryol@tubitak.gov.tr
onur.temizsoylu@tubitak.gov.tr
Andrii Golovynskyi, V. Glushkov Institute of Cybernetics NAS of Ukraine UkraineA.Golovynskyi@nas.gov.ua

Ian Collier, STFC

United Kingdomian.collier@stfc.ac.uk


Scientific community delegates:

Name

Community

Email

Bob Jones,
Maria Girone,
Helge Meinhard

CERN

Robert.Jones@cern.ch
maria.girone@cern.ch
helge.meinhard@cern.ch

Antonio Aloisio,
Antonio Fabrizio

IS-ENES
(Organization: CMCC)
antonio.aloisio@cmcc.it
fabrizio.antonio@cmcc.it
Dick M.A. SchaapSeaDataNet
(Organization: MARIS)
dick@maris.nl
Ivan Rodero,
Juanjo Dañobeitia, and
Laura Beranzoli
EMSO Research Community
(Organization: EMSO-ERIC)
ivan.rodero@emso-eu.org
juanjo.danobeitia@emso-eu.org
laura.beranzoli@ingv.it
Craig Heinselman,
Ingemar Häggström
EISCAT_3D
(Organization: EISCAT Association)
craig.heinselman@eiscat.se
ingemar.haggstrom@eiscat.se


Institutional delegates:

Name

Institute

Email

Péter KacsukMTA-SZTAKIkacsuk.peter@sztaki.hu


Meetings

Meetings

Agenda, Focus topic: Establishing the Community Managers Group in EGI
 Agenda, Focus topics: H2020 projects report, Big Data Value Association, Global Open Science Cloud, AI4EU initiative
Agenda, Focus topic: The EGI Engagement, Support and Events Plans for 2022
Agenda, Focus topics: Recent updates from EOSC, Special Interest Groups, the EOSC Compute Platform User Support Workshop
Agenda, Focus topics: Evolving the EGI Service Portfolio Structure, Launch of the EGI Special Interest Groups (SIG), Recent updates from GOSC
Cancelled
Agenda, Focus topics: EGI2022, Massive Open Online Course for EGI/NGI topics,  new EGI webiste,  HPC and Cloud service, Upcoming National and Topical events, Updates from the NGI Community Managers
Cancelled

Cancelled

Agenda, Focus topics: EGI Community Managers meeting at EGI2022, Status of the EGI-ACE open call, Upcoming national and topical events, Updates from the NGI Community Managers

Agenda (EGI2022 conference)

Events full category: See in Indico

Contact